Salt and Tinegar, anyone?

Published June 19, 2012 by helenlaycock

What a funny title!

I had an idea for a mystery set at the seaside. I knew that there would be a guest house by the sea called ‘Salt’ as it was run by… Mrs Salt and I also had the idea of an old man that lived in the attic rooms of Salt guest house who I named Mr Tinegar – like vinegar! At the time, my title was going to be ‘Salt and Tinegar’, but, luckily, I had the presence of mind to change it to just ‘Salt’. I thought that captured the sea perfectly and was much less of a mouthful.

As I wrote the story I pictured the setting clearly, a British seaside town, fictional, of course, called Pirates’ Cove. In my head, I could stand along the sea front with a row of tall, traditional guest houses lined side by side behind me. In the distance, to the left, I could see the grassy cliff tops and on the pavement near me a jolly ice-cream seller called Gilly who was to play a small role in the story. Turning right with the sea beside me on my left, I could walk into the little town with its bustling market square and to the right of that I could see the roads leading steeply uphill, passing the mysterious antiques shop, Cobwebs.

The story revolves around two children: Toby is on holiday with his Great Aunt Win and her pet rat, Rufus, and Hattie is a strange local girl who has a market stall selling boxes decorated with shells. We mustn’t forget Hattie’s dog, Scamp, either. When there is a break in at the guest house and a mysterious plate disappears which carries a curse, the children become involved. They stumble across a long-forgotten door at the back of Mrs Salt’s cellar which leads them through a series of sandy tunnels and to an unbelievable discovery.

As in any good mystery, there are secrets to be revealed, and of course, in attempting to do that, there will be danger for Toby and Hattie.

Leave a Reply

Arachne Press

Publishers of Fiction, Poetry and Non-fiction

ShortStops

Getting excited about short stories in the UK & Ireland - in print, online & live!!

Suzy Henderson

Historical Fiction Author

Herbie Cax

On walking the dogs and story-telling.

Three Drops from a Cauldron

poetry and fiction ~ myths, folklore, legends and fairytales

Spilling Cocoa Over Martin Amis

It's OK, you're allowed to be funny

Writing about Writing for Children

Her Dark Materials: notes from the world of children's books

Nothing Any Good

Source for indie authors to write, publish, and market their books

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

WritePhoto

Keeping you up to date with my writing and photographic projects

absurd

Always entertaining

Emblazon

Writing Stories on the Hearts of Children

Children's Book Chat

An insight into Children's Publishing from the next generation

Lou Treleaven

Children's author, writing coach and playwright

Words under one roof

Writing, editing, novelling and enjoying life

KURT★BRINDLEY

Surmising with aplomb and nary remorse

