What Charlie did next…

Published June 19, 2012 by helenlaycock

Little Charlie hung around in my mind long after I had written my first book about him. I had no intention of writing a second book, but as I trundled about doing my daily routine I kept finding instances where I could imagine Charlie getting into trouble. Every time I had an idea I jotted it down, often on the back of a receipt or on a  chocolate wrapper ( I always seem to have one of those nearby!). Finally I had enough ideas to write about his further mishaps, for mishaps were what Charlie’s life consisted of. Can you imagine being that tiny? Wherever he went in the world of ‘proper-sized’ humans he was sure to get into trouble.

The character of Grandma was rather a feature in this second book. She suffers from very bad eyesight and dotes on her awful cat, Zimbo.

Here is an extract from The Further Mishaps of Charlie Chumpkins (which now forms the second half of the book) when Charlie gets caught on the control pad of Grandma’s hospital bed:

Suddenly Charlie activated another button. The bed started folding up with Grandma inside. She was going to be a Grandma fajita! I fumbled round with Charlie and the control pad, but he was so firmly attached I couldn’t get behind him to undo the paper clip. Luckily Grandma slept on. As Charlie wriggled, so Grandma began to unfold, stretching, stretching. I was worried that she would begin to do a back bend and continue to curve until her head was touching her heels.
`Straighten her up! Straighten her up!’ I shouted, hastily pulling the curtain around the bed as the other old ladies began looking over. Grandma was snoring loudly as she went into reverse again and her face came up to meet her toes. I yanked Charlie with all my might. His braces snapped with a ping and he was free. He sat in my hand.
`Forgive me, Sam, but I find myself somewhat amused by that little experience.’ He chortled into his hand.
The curtain zipped open and there were Mum and Dad with the crackers.
Grandma woke up.
`Were you having a little snooze, Mum?’
Grandma looked around to get her bearings.
`Oh, what a funny dream. I was having a workout with Jane Fonda. And, do you know, I’ve even got the aches to go with it!’ Grandma laughed heartily.

The cover before it was amalgamated into a bumper two-in-one edition

The Further Mishaps of Charlie Chumpkins

Leave a Reply

ShortStops

Getting excited about short stories in the UK & Ireland - in print, online & live!!

Suzy Henderson

Historical Fiction Author

Herbie Cax

On walking the dogs and story-telling.

Three Drops from a Cauldron

poetry and fiction ~ myths, folklore, legends and fairytales

Spilling Cocoa Over Martin Amis

It's OK, you're allowed to be funny

Writing about Writing for Children

Her Dark Materials: notes from the world of children's books

Nothing Any Good

Source for indie authors to write, publish, and market their books

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

WritePhoto

Keeping you up to date with my writing and photographic projects

absurd

Always entertaining

Emblazon

Writing Stories on the Hearts of Children

Children's Book Chat

An insight into Children's Publishing from the next generation

Lou Treleaven

Children's author and playwright

Words under one roof

Writing, editing, novelling and enjoying life

KURT★BRINDLEY

WRITER★EDITER★PRODUCER★CONSULTANT

