Picking scabs

Published May 13, 2014 by helenlaycock

You know those people who just can’t leave things alone—constantly straightening the curtain, arranging the crudités with as much symmetry as four different vegetables will allow and repeatedly re-positioning the set of three china balls so that not only are they equidistant, but also in a line that points due south-east…

You don’t? Oh. It’s just me then.

Well, I do strive for perfection in the hope that one day I will be able to boot the Angel Gabriel out of his golden chair and wear his robes and wings with more panache than he ever dreamed possible. Maybe it’s a little on the OCD scale, but I like it that way.

Yes, I am getting to the point.

So, my point is… having written all my books and seeing them in all their glory on Amazon, you would think—would you not—that I could safely say Job Done. Oh no, not I (as Gloria Gaynor once sang).  Bit by bit, I am tearing them apart and re-publishing them.

A new line would be better there, I think.

I’ve found a better font!

I’ve got a better cover idea!

So, up to now, I have four books which are as perfect as I can achieve. It has not been without a struggle as I have previously mentioned. Having had an article published in the local press about my short stories collection, Peace and Disquiet,

Image

I promptly poked my big nose into the publishing process for tweaking and new-cover-idea purposes, only to find the whole production system disrupted and my book no longer available. I’ve managed to put it right and here is the final…FINAL book, never to be fiddled with again:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Peace-Disquiet-Helen-Laycock/dp/1495917290/ref=la_B006PGFVL6_1_1_bnp_1_pap?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1399998710&sr=1-1

And here are the finished books of Salt and The Secret of Pooks Wood (whose old cover wasn’t exciting enough) for children… uh, never to be fiddled with again.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Salt-Helen-Laycock/dp/1499276257/ref=la_B006PGFVL6_1_9_bnp_1_pap?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1399998854&sr=1-9   http://www.amazon.co.uk/Secret-Pooks-Wood-Helen-Laycock/dp/1499525591/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1399998892&sr=1-1&keywords=the+secret+of+pooks+wood

*spits on hand, twirls three times and sings the rest of I Will Survive*

6 comments on “Picking scabs

  • It’s tempting to fiddle. Maybe it comes from a lack of confidence in the quality of our work – it’s so scary to send it out into the world and wait for the reaction. We just want it to be the best it can be.

  • I suppose that’s how all the best cakes came about, Sally. A pinch of this, a touch of that, embellishments here, spun sugar there. We want our writing to be savoured, so we do our best to conjure up the best recipes we can.

  • Leave a Reply

        Arachne Press

    Publishers of Fiction, Poetry and Non-fiction

    ShortStops

    Getting excited about short stories in the UK & Ireland - in print, online & live!!

    Suzy Henderson

    Historical Fiction Author

    Herbie Cax

    On walking the dogs and story-telling.

    Three Drops from a Cauldron

    poetry and fiction ~ myths, folklore, legends and fairytales

    Spilling Cocoa Over Martin Amis

    It's OK, you're allowed to be funny

    Writing about Writing for Children

    Her Dark Materials: notes from the world of children's books

    Nothing Any Good

    Source for indie authors to write, publish, and market their books

    Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

    INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

    WritePhoto

    Keeping you up to date with my writing and photographic projects

    absurd

    Always entertaining

    Emblazon

    Writing Stories on the Hearts of Children

    Children's Book Chat

    An insight into Children's Publishing from the next generation

    Lou Treleaven

    Children's author, writing coach and playwright

    Words under one roof

    Writing, editing, novelling and enjoying life

    KURT★BRINDLEY

    Surmising with aplomb and nary remorse

