OCD – just another way of Organising Cupboards and Drawers

Published June 7, 2015 by helenlaycock

People – I hesitate to call them ‘loyal friends’ – have been known to label, nay accuse, me of having OCD tendencies. I like to think of it more as being Orderly, and using Categories and Details to make life flow like liquid wax down polished granite.

*wipes up image-debris and buffs*

My Orderly nature blatantly, and tidily, presents itself as soon as you walk through the front door. Heaven forbid that I should ever be caught out as an unsuspecting contestant of ‘Through the Keyhole, Non-Celebrity Special – where we knock on random doors and demand to be let in with camera crew, Lloyd Grossman, David Frost and Keith Lemon in tow’. Every picture is straight, every mirror is polished, and, without exception, every toilet lid is down, safe in the knowledge that a fragrant and pristine paradise waits beneath. I hesitate to say that I use a spirit level and set square in positioning my ornaments… I don’t have to! I have an eye for angles and equidistance.

Exhibit #1

IMG_20150607_123840[1]

Everything in life can be organised by categories and details:-

BOOKS (non-fiction)

– these occupy their own ‘non-fiction’ bookcase, placed geographically away from their cousins, ‘Fiction’. Perish the thought that a member of the household confuses their natural habitats. Non-fiction sits comfortably in Categories ( I love that concept, just in case you haven’t noticed yet), and, it goes without saying that, within those categories, they are placed in height order *swoons with delight* – tall to short *passes out in ecstasy*…

Now, recipe books, living in the kitchen, are a completely different animal, with a completely different set of rules. There, the tallest books are in the middle of the shelf and there is a gentle, and symmetrical, cascade to the left and right, ending at a vintage copy of Mrs Beeton and an old Home Economics book from schooldays.

Exhibit #2 (and yes, the fact that it’s not exactly symmetrical does not sit easy with me, so I shall move swiftly on)

IMG_20150607_124500[1]

BOOKS (fiction)

-do I really need to state the obvious? *sighs* Alphabetical by author… just like CDs and their artists. DVDs, of course, are by title. But you knew that.

For the benefit of burglars (and subsequent visit by the boys in blue), I have made my cupboards easy to navigate, too.

Clothes are organised by type, and are sub-categorised into colour (light to dark) – as are shoes. It’s to everyone’s benefit, is it not, to also have photographic evidence of every item of clothing? What better way to select an outfit!

All the games have been categorized – word/number/physical/practical, and, as for the box containing writing materials, that is the piece de resistance (I am aware that an accent is missing. I may be OCD, but I’m also computer-illiterate).

And lists – yes, what a boon are lists. Lovely, luscious lists… Have you ever thought about how many lists are just waiting to be made? Just the other day I listed the contents of the freezer. I keep notes of presents I have bought for people over the years, I make shopping lists by aisles. Why, when we took the family to Florida, every moment was planned from where we would eat to what we would do and when we would do it. There was mutiny on Day 3, but that’s a different story.

Anyway, one day I’m going to write a book called ‘Organising Christmas? Done.’ (That’s one of my specialities)

OCD? As if… I actually think that would look better as CDO

*Note to burglars. There’s nothing of value here. Move on.

4 comments on “OCD – just another way of Organising Cupboards and Drawers

  • My home is organised too. Honest.
    There’s the desk drawer for secretarial-type stuff, except for the sellotape we keep in the living room cupboard because there’s always been some there and the OH expects it to remain.
    The saucepans have their own cupboard, except for the two that won’t fit and have to go under the sink.
    My wardrobe – on secondthoughts, let’s change the subject.
    🙂

  • Leave a Reply

        ShortStops

    Getting excited about short stories in the UK & Ireland - in print, online & live!!

    Herbie Cax

    On walking the dogs and story-telling.

    Three Drops from a Cauldron

    poetry and fiction ~ myths, folklore, legends and fairytales

    Spilling Cocoa Over Martin Amis

    It's OK, you're allowed to be funny

    Writing about Writing for Children

    Her Dark Materials: notes from the world of children's books

    Nothing Any Good

    Source for indie authors to write, publish, and market their books

    Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

    INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

    WritePhoto

    Keeping you up to date with my writing and photographic projects

    absurd

    Always entertaining

    Emblazon

    Writing Stories on the Hearts of Children

    Children's Book Chat

    An insight into Children's Publishing from the next generation

    Lou Treleaven

    Children's author and playwright

    Words under one roof

    Writing, editing, novelling and enjoying life

    KURT★BRINDLEY

    WRITER★EDITER★PRODUCER★CONSULTANT

