DAY 2 of the FREE promotion of Charlie Chumpkins

Published October 27, 2016 by helenlaycock

final-new-cover1-with-sequel-title-added-july-14

#freebook #kidlit #childrensbooks #mgfiction

UK: http://tinyurl.com/jdsgtnr
US: http://tinyurl.com/zb49m2p

For little people (7 – 12) who love to read about little people:

Mr Charlie Chumpkins and The Further Mishaps of Charlie Chumpkins

is #free to download until Sunday 30th October.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

Here is an extract from the chapter where tiny Charlie has fallen from the supermarket trolley into one of the freezers. Sam is desperate to find him, but is stopped in his tracks by an elderly customer…

 

I felt my upper arm being grabbed and looked down to see a wrinkled hand attached to a bony arm of an old lady muffled up in a winter coat and woolly hat.

‘Excuse me, son,’ she warbled. ‘My eyes are not so good now. Mind you, when I was a girl they were sharp as a kestrel’s.’ She paused for a moment to have a giggle, encouraging me to join in by slapping me in a friendly manner in the same place she had a moment ago gripped me. I was starting to become quite battered. ‘Do you need glasses?’ she enquired, peering into my face, her head tilted to one side.

‘Oh, no, no,’ I replied, desperate to get away. ‘Can I help you with something?’

‘Ah, what a well-mannered boy. Isn’t he a well-mannered boy?’ she enthused to a nearby shopper who nodded obligingly. ‘I said to my Wilfred – that’s my cat – I said to him the other day, you know, Wilfred, it’s not all true what they say about these teenagers. They’re not all hooligans, you know. Are you a teenager?’

‘No, not yet,’ I hurriedly replied. ‘Now what was it you wanted help with?’

‘What about a hooligan? You don’t look like one. You haven’t got any of these piercings that are all the rage, have you?’

‘No, nothing like that. So, what was it -?’

‘What about tattoos? Now they’re all right, though probably not for a youngster like you. My Albert – that’s my late husband, bless his soul – he had tattoos. Ever so manly, they were. He was in the Navy, you know…’

The old lady sank into a daydream. I picked up a bag of carrots and touched her arm gently. ‘Ahem, was it these you were needing help with?’

‘Carrots? Oh no. They’re fine. It was this mixed veg I was wondering about. Could you just check the ingredients for me and tell me if they contain sprouts. I can’t eat sprouts, you know.’

She leaned forward and in a hushed voice confided, ‘They give me wind.’

Leave a Reply

ShortStops

Getting excited about short stories in the UK & Ireland - in print, online & live!!

Herbie Cax

On walking the dogs and story-telling.

Three Drops from a Cauldron

poetry and fiction ~ myths, folklore, legends and fairytales

Spilling Cocoa Over Martin Amis

It's OK, you're allowed to be funny

Writing about Writing for Children

Her Dark Materials: notes from the world of children's books

Nothing Any Good

Source for indie authors to write, publish, and market their books

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

WritePhoto

Keeping you up to date with my writing and photographic projects

absurd

Always entertaining

Emblazon

Writing Stories on the Hearts of Children

Children's Book Chat

An insight into Children's Publishing from the next generation

Lou Treleaven

Children's author and playwright

Words under one roof

Writing, editing, novelling and enjoying life

KURT★BRINDLEY

WRITER★EDITER★PRODUCER★CONSULTANT

