Got to hand it to them…

Published June 19, 2017 by helenlaycock

How delighted I was to find a new shop in the village. The ironmonger’s was long gone and in its place was a shiny new replacement called Savers.

It wasn’t long before it was the talk of the village. The bargains to be had!

Well, yes. There were. I couldn’t believe my eyes when I saw nine rolls of toilet paper for a mere £1.99, or my favourite coconut oil at £1 a pot! I’d pop in regularly for toiletries – for toiletries galore were their speciality, along with, for some bizarre reason, a pot pourri of pet food in the last aisle.

For months I’d been wearing odd rubber gloves – one red and one yellow. I know many of you will be shocked by that confession.

Sometimes I shock myself.

They were both for the right hand so I wore the yellow one inside out, or sometimes, if it assumed its default stance due to a rough pulling off (yes, I have been known to be a tad rough with them: shock#2), I occasionally just forced my left hand into it. This pulled back and twisted my fourth and baby finger somewhat, lifting them up into a position where they were unusable (but quite elegant), and my thumb pointed the wrong way, but I lived with it.

I have to admit, those gloves annoyed the hell out of me, but as all you nail-varnish-wearing ladies know, washing up without sheathing one’s fingers in rubber can only result in disaster. As can many similar practices…

Well, I could hardly contain myself when I saw a pair of yellow rubber gloves in Savers at 49p. They were ‘Large’ and I am ‘Very Small’, but it’s rare to find anything less than a Medium so I snapped them up and snapped them on when I got home.

Not just for the fun of it, I hasten to add. There was washing up to be done. Who in their right mind puts glass in the dishwasher? No way, Jose!

I have worn Large before, so I knew that there would be a length of empty, flaccid glove at the end of each finger. It makes picking up very difficult; you just have to swipe and clutch, and often you have other fingertips in your grip too.

It wasn’t long before I mourned the loss of  Reliant Red and Inside-Out Yellow. My new gloves were not what they seemed for they began to stick together inside. It dawned on me that they had none of the powdery non-stick stuff that your average (or Large) Marigolds have. One by one the finger spaces became mini channels, or even cul-de-sacs, so that I could only get my digits part of the way up. There was now even more floppy finger dangling off the ends of my hands, and not only that, it was grossly deformed.

IMG_20170619_174915

I am gradually getting used to them. They are a bit like crab claws now; I mostly don’t bother with the finger compartments at all and just insert the odd bit of extremity where I can find an orifice. I have just cleaned out the kitchen bin in them. It wasn’t pretty. I couldn’t find the opening of the new bin bag and when I finally did, I was unable to deposit a dirty Cif Wipe into it. Over and over it fell on the floor, and over and over I grabbed at it with fingers cramped into the palm of the glove.

Savers isn’t that good, and neither are 49p rubber gloves. Don’t be seduced, folks.

6 comments on “Got to hand it to them…

  • Leave a Reply

        ShortStops

    Getting excited about short stories in the UK & Ireland - in print, online & live!!

    Suzy Henderson

    Historical Fiction Author

    Herbie Cax

    On walking the dogs and story-telling.

    Three Drops from a Cauldron

    poetry and fiction ~ myths, folklore, legends and fairytales

    Spilling Cocoa Over Martin Amis

    It's OK, you're allowed to be funny

    Writing about Writing for Children

    Her Dark Materials: notes from the world of children's books

    Nothing Any Good

    Source for indie authors to write, publish, and market their books

    Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

    INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

    WritePhoto

    Keeping you up to date with my writing and photographic projects

    absurd

    Always entertaining

    Emblazon

    Writing Stories on the Hearts of Children

    Children's Book Chat

    An insight into Children's Publishing from the next generation

    Lou Treleaven

    Children's author and playwright

    Words under one roof

    Writing, editing, novelling and enjoying life

    KURT★BRINDLEY

    WRITER★EDITER★PRODUCER★CONSULTANT

